The initial discovery was made by two amateur cavers who are TCD students, on holiday in the fishing town of Killybegs. They heard myths recounted by locals about a small, mysterious cave hidden about 2 km up the shoreline, and set out to investigate. After several days of searching they found what appeared to be the entrance to a cave, well-camouflaged by large rocks and trees. The outcropping was engraved with what seemed to be a rudimentary form of Gaelic lettering. However, the cave was much too small for them to enter and explore, with the entrance only about 60 cm tall.
The moldy pieces of fabric and rusty squares were reconstructed to form what appeared to be a brightly-colored jacket and pointed, buckled hat. The coins were Irish double pistoles, struck in the year 1646. And while the map did not correspond to any of the known geographic features of the area during that period, the unmistakable image of a rainbow dominated one end. http://news-buzz.org/irish-scientists-cl...g-village/